Diplomats, returning Nigerians, residents allowed from banned countries

The Federal Government has said diplomats, returning Nigerians and foreigners resident in Nigeria are allowed into the country from nations placed under restrictions.

The Presidential Task Force for the Control of Coronavirus stated this on Thursday night while making clarification on categories of people affected by the travel restrictions imposed on 13 countries.

The task force stated this in reaction to frequently asked questions, made available by the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, on measures to combat the deadly Covid-19.

Explaining what it meant by restricted entry, it said, “It means you will not be allowed into the country if you live in or have visited these countries in the last fifteen (15) days.

On whether it applied to a Nigerian returning home and diplomats, it said, “No, you will be allowed in but subject to supervised self-isolation for Fourteen (14) days after arrival.”

The committee said the restriction did not affect those residents in Nigeria but holding foreign passports.

The taskforce reiterated that the ban would come into effect from Saturday, urging the public to furnish or seek clarification through the COVID-PTF/NCDC  24/7 help line No: 0800970000-10.

Recall that Nigeria on Wednesday placed travel restrictions on entry into the county from 13 countries with high-burden of corona virus.

The countries are China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy, United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France and Japan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *