Current track




APC’s Ododo defeats Ajaka and Melaye to win Kogi Governorship election

Written by on November 13, 2023

The keenly-contested November 11, 2023 Kogi State Governorship Election has finally produced a winner with the All Progressives Congress, APC candidate, Usman Ododo, clinching the much-coveted seat.

The State Returning Officer, Professor Johnson Urama, who is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academics, of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, announced Ododo as the winner at 10:23pm yesterday Sunday 12th November.

Ododo won with 446,237 votes, defeating his closest rival, Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party, SDP, who scored 259,052, while Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, polled 46,362 votes.

Ododo, an ex-Auditor General of Local Government in Kogi under Governor Yahaya Bello, was the anointed candidate of the governor who is ending his double terms of eight years.

Meanwhile, the Social Democratic Party, SDP’s governorship candidate in Kogi State Muritala Ajaka is faulting INEC over the conduct of the governorship election in the state.

While the commission has concluded the election in the North-Central state with results being collated, Ajaka, who is vying to unseat the APC, has accused INEC officials of compromising the exercise.

Still in the off-season elections, Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State has thanked supporters following his re-election.

Uzodimma became the Imo governor in 2020 after the Supreme Court nullified Emeka Ihedioha’s victory.

But yesterday, INEC declared the APC candidate as the winner of the Imo governorship election after he cleared all 27 local government areas of the South-East state.

He says the latest victory shows he actually won the Imo governorship election back in 2019 but was cheated until the Supreme Court came to the rescue.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *