Jay FM Live

Current track




COVID-19, 40 New Cases Across Seven States

Written by on May 24, 2021

The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control has recorded 40 new cases of COVID-19, bringing the total number of infections in the country to 166,019.

The NCDC disclosed this on its official Twitter handle @NCDCgov in the early hours of Monday.

It stated that the 40 new infections were from seven states – Lagos (29), Abia (three), Ogun (three), Kano (two), Kaduna (one), Plateau (one), and Rivers (one).

“The latest report includes zero cases from Ekiti, Federal Capital Territory, Ondo, Osun, Oyo and Sokoto states,” it stated.

The agency said that till date, 166,019 cases had been confirmed, 156,476 persons treated and discharged; and 2,067 deaths recorded in 36 states and the FCT.

It added that a multi-sectoral national emergency operations centre activated at Level 2 had continued to coordinate the national response activities.

The NCDC said that the agency had tested over two million people since the beginning of the pandemic in Nigeria on February 27, 2020.

It stated that there are about 7,476 active cases in the country.

Meanwhile, NCDC has advised Nigerians to stick to all non-pharmaceutical preventive measures of COVID-19 that will help to curb the spread of COVID-19 in the country.

“Wash your hands with soap under running water, wear your face mask properly, maintain a distance of two metres from the person next to you,” it said.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Nigeria Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 has declared 108 airline passengers possible public health threats for evading the mandatory seven-day quarantine period for visitors into the country.

It reports that the passengers arrived Nigeria from Brazil, India and Turkey.

The PSC on COVID-19 said the identified individuals failed to observe the newly-instituted mandatory protocols put in place against the spread of coronavirus.

According to it, the passengers included 27 Indians and 63 Nigerians, who arrived Nigeria through the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos, and the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja.

The PSC said that the affected airlines are Ethiopian airlines and Qatar airways, adding that the 27 Indian violators are categorised as unregistered.

It said the dates of their arrival were between May 8 and May 15, noting that they “evaded the mandatory seven-day quarantine for persons arriving from restricted countries.”


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *