Current track




Eight Commissioners Retained As Imo Governor Dissolves Cabinet

Written by on May 13, 2021

Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State yesterday dissolved his 28- member cabinet, retaining eight commissioners in the first major cabinet reshuffle since assuming office on January 15, 2020.

At the end of the usual weekly Executive Council meeting, yesterday, the governor said the dissolution became necessary to rejig and re-energise the system for maximum productivity.

The ministries whose Commissioners were retained in the dissolution include Finance, Science and Technology, Health, Works, Information, Youths and Sports, Women Affairs and Tourism.

The governor thanked the affected former Commissioners and assured them that they would still be found relevant in other areas if eventually they did not make the new cabinet that would soon be reconstituted.

The Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Mbadiwe Emelumba, who briefed journalists with the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Mr. Nnamdi Anyaehie and the Chief Press Secretary and Media Adviser to Governor, Mr. Oguwike Nwachuku added that the governor took the decision to fast track governance in line with the mission of the government to serve the people well.

He ordered the former commissioners to hand over all government property, including their official vehicles to the permanent secretaries of those ministries.

Source ThisDayLive

Tagged as

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *