Current track




Tinubu approves retirement of all Service Chiefs and others with immediate effect

Written by on June 20, 2023

President Bola Tinubu has removed all service chiefs in Nigeria and appointed new ones whom he directed to resume with immediate effect.

Those affected in the unprecedented shakeup include Alkali Usman who was removed as the Inspector-General of Police, Lucky Irabor, sacked as the Chief of Defence Staff; Faruk Yahaya, retired as the Chief of Army Staff; Awwal Gambo, removed as the Chief of Naval Staff; and Isiaka Amao, retired as Chief of Air Staff.

The President subsequently appointed new service chiefs in the country and named a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Nuhu Ribadu, as his new National Security Adviser, NSA.

Ribadu replaces Babagana Monguno as the nation’s NSA.

Major General C.G Musa is now the Chief of Defence Staff, Major General T. A Lagbaja is now the Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla now the Chief of Naval Staff, AVM H.B Abubakar now the Chief of Air Staff, DIG Kayode Egbetokun now the Acting Inspector-General of Police and Major General EPA Undiandeye is now the Chief of Defense Intelligence among others.

In a related development, President Bola Tinubu has approved the dissolution of boards of Federal Government parastatals, agencies, institutions and government-owned companies.

The dissolution was contained in a statement by the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, SGF.

In the statement signed by the Director of Information, Willie Bassey on behalf of the SGF, George Akume, the President took the decision in the exercise of its constitutional powers and in the public interest.

Permanent Secretaries were also directed to route such correspondences to the President through the Office of the SGF.

Organised labour and the Federal Government have agreed on an eight-week deadline to thrash out all contentious issues and implement the resolutions arising from the demands of labour.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *